Rebecca Locks Down


Sugar & Down Time
April 15, 2007, 2:40 am
Filed under: Chef-ing

I went home for a few days to relax and hang out with my family in between exams. I actually miss being home! Everyone was either at work or at school during most of my visit so I had to entertain myself. I slept, drove around and baked some things. Did you know that given the choice between being an engineer or a pastry chef I would choose the latter? That’s crucial Rebecca trivia. 

This is a cupcake (duh) that I made on Thursday. The recipe is apparently the exact recipe that Magnolia Bakery in Manhattan, New York uses. I got the recipe off the Food Network and other than halving the recipe I followed it exactly. I made it at the request of my sister and even though I’m not a big cupcake fan this was really good! The orange/pink icing and the chocolate heart was my idea.

I didn’t like this bread too much. It was too dense, almost like a bagel. It got devoured pretty fast though. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, maybe that made it dense, I don’t know.

This bread I kind of put together on my own. I was looking for something Asian-ish but I had trouble with metric measurements because I don’t have a good kitchen scale at home. This red bean bread is made from a recipe for red bean paste and cinnamon bread (without the cinnamon). This was REALLY good. Almost like the stuff that you get from T&T Supermarket. It needed more sugar though and the red bean paste was so-so. I’m gonna make it again with taro maybe. It looks really pro too.

Damn, that cupcake is beautiful.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

taro would be fabulous.
actually, on that note: do you have any good recipes for the taro filling? i tried making glutinous rice balls once, with the taro stuff, and it turned out so-so.

cheers!

Comment by lindsay




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

