Rebecca Locks Down


Carrot Bread, With Pictures
April 24, 2007, 7:17 pm
Filed under: Chef-ing

One thing that I love about being home is that my mom’s pantry is stocked. You can find almost every asian and western ingredient. However, today I was planning on making cinnamon buns and raisin bread when I found that we were out of milk. Too lazy to head out to the store, I changed my plans and decided to make a quick bread.

I’ve made zucchini bread way too many times to count. One winter, I made it so many times for family that I had nightmares about making it. I always use the Zucchini Bread III recipe from AllRecipes.com since it ALWAYS turns out well.

I made quite a few changes to the recipe. First of all, I didn’t have any zucchini, so I substituted carrot. Also, I cut down on the oil by using homemade applesauce and took out some of the sugar because the raisins and applesauce sweeten the bread enough. I took a couple of pictures; they don’t really help to explain the recipe, but I wanted to play around with photography. Here’s the adapted recipe:

Carrot Bread, adapted from Zucchini Bread III

2 cups grated carrot
1/2 cup applesauce
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup wheat germ
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350F (175C). In a large bowl, combine first 6 ingredients together. In another bowl combine the rest of the ingredients (except the raisins). Stir the dry ingredients into the wet and blend in the raisins. Pour into a greased and floured loaf pan and bake for 1.5 hours (I would check after 1 hour and every 15 minutes afterwards).

The grated carrots, notice how they are in a bowl decorated with carrot and vegetable motifs. The recipe calls for two cups of carrots, but I didn’t bother measuring how much a grated. This is 3 carrots worth, probably way more than two cups.

The homemade applesauce. I made it in a Magic Bullet, which is really, really noisy and inefficient (the infomercials had us fooled though).

The eggs. Yes, everyone already knows what eggs look like. They are just really pretty to photograph.

The vegetable oil. If you look closely you can see they sailboat print on the glass.

The brown sugar. Measuring brown sugar always reminds me of making sandcastles at the beach.

Mixing all the wet ingredients together.

The dry ingredients in a pretty plastic blue bowl.

Mixing the dry ingredients with the wet and the raisins. You can also add some walnuts at this step. My brother is allergic to nuts so I leave them out.

The greased and floured loaf pan. Another useless picture, but this is a really cool photo where you can really see a contrast of textures. Definitely one of my favourite pictures.

The batter in the pan. THIS is my favourite photo to date. Please take a look at this picture in full size. I love how you can see the flecks of cinnamon in the batter and the light reflection from the foil pan.

The finished product. It smells awesome.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

we always used zucchini as a substitute for carrot…-shrugs-
tastes exactly the same to me.

Comment by karen




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

