Rebecca Locks Down


Long Time
June 21, 2007, 7:53 pm
Filed under: Chef-ing, Personal

When I first started this blog I was going to post an entry for every recipe that I try… this isn’t to say that I haven’t been cooking these last two months, just that I have gotten lazy. In the last little bit, lots of things have happened (good things!). I turned the big two-oh on April 29 and on the very same day I move out to Toronto for my summer job, which I started on the 30th. I’m working at an civil engineering consulting company doing some low level project management for a very big international retailer. Due to confidentiality I am not able to say what retailer but believe me, you’ve been in one of their stores.

Not waking up in residence and going to class everyday is definitely a bit weird. I miss all my friends in Waterloo and seeing them everyday; we were like a big family of bickering brothers and sisters (more brothers than sisters though… engineering). Work is totally different. Everyone is nice enough, but it’s still work and that means acting professionally. Plus, the whole nine-to-five thing is so monotonous… I much rather be in school. Also, no sweats at work! Dress pants, ironed shirts and the occasional pair of jeans are all that I wear… It’s like I get up every day to play dress up.

Food-wise, I’m still baking, though I kind of want to move away from it and try something new. I made a lemon meringue pie (terrible looking, tasted okay), foccacia (yum) and pizza (yum yum). No pictures though. I did take pictures of some cream puffs that I made a couple of weeks ago. The choux pastry wasn’t great but the pastry cream was awesome. Are these eclairs or cream puffs? Who cares, they were GOOD. Recipe from Allrecipes: Cream Puffs I

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

